Home

Cologne Fragments

Digital Reconstruction of the Cologne Fragments

 

Since the collapse on 3 March 2009, the Historical Archive of the City of Cologne has been faced with the challenge of cleaning and restoring millions of recovered fragments as well as restoring the original context of the archival material. The quantity and the degree of damage of the fragments in Cologne as well as the lack of restrictive search criteria do not allow a purely manual reconstruction of the parts.
As part of a research and development project for the "Digital Reconstruction of the Cologne Fragments" (DRCF), a prototypical assistance system for reconstruction was implemented and tested and the feasibility of a digital reconstruction of archived goods successfully demonstrated.
Based on the DRCF-project’s prototypical assistance system for reconstruction, the development of a functional full-scale reconstruction assistance system will be implemented in the current project and put into operation at the Historical Archives of the City of Cologne.

German television report on the Cologne project:

In addition to the software for digital reconstruction, the DRCF project also features a newly designed soft particle blasting workstation to support the dry cleaning of the Cologne fragments. A digitizing unit for single sheet manuscripts and fragments of paper that is unique in the world has been designed and built on behalf of the Historical Archives. The soft particle blasting workstation and the digitization unit are already in use at the Restoration and Digitization Center in Cologne-Porz. A test run of the prototypical reconstruction software with original fragments at the MusterFabrik Berlin has also been successful.

Details on the Soft Particle Blasting Workstation

Details on the Digitizing Unit

Project Partners

 

About us

Home

Historisches Archiv der Stadt Köln

Digitale Rekonstruktion Kölner Fragmente

Das Historische Archiv der Stadt Köln steht seit dem Einsturz am 03. März 2009 vor der Herausforderung, Millionen von geborgenen Fragmenten zu reinigen, zu restaurieren und den Originalzusammenhang des Archivguts wiederherzustellen. Die Menge und der Beschädigungsgrad der in Köln vorliegenden Fragmente sowie das Fehlen einschränkender Suchkriterien lassen hier keine rein manuelle Rekonstruktion der Teile zu.

Im Rahmen eines Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojektes zur „Digitalen Rekonstruktion Kölner Fragmente“ (DRKF) wurde die Machbarkeit einer digitalen Rekonstruktion der Archivgüter erfolgreich nachgewiesen sowie ein prototypisches Rekonstruktions-Assistenzsystem implementiert und getestet.

Basierend auf diesem prototypischen Rekonstruktions-Assistenzsystem des DRKF-Projekts soll in dem nun laufenden Vorhaben die Entwicklung eines funktional vollwertigen Rekonstruktions-Assistenzsystems implementiert und beim Historischen Archiv der Stadt Köln in Betrieb genommen werden.

Berichterstattung im deutschen Fernsehen zum Köln-Projekt:

 

Neben der Software zur digitalen Rekonstruktion wurde im DRKF-Projekt u.a. auch ein neuartiger Weichpartikelstrahl-Arbeitsplatz zur Unterstützung der Trockenreinigung der Kölner Fragmente konstruiert und gebaut. Darüber hinaus wurde im Auftrag des Historischen Archivs eine weltweit einmalige Digitalisierungseinheit für Einzelblattschriftgut und Papierfragmente konstruiert und gebaut. Der Weichpartikelstrahl-Arbeitsplatz sowie die Digitalisierungseinheit befinden sich bereits im Restaurierungs- und Digitalisierungszentrum in Köln-Porz im Einsatz. Ein Test der prototypischen Rekonstruktions-Software mit Original-Fragmenten in der MusterFabrik Berlin verlief ebenfalls erfolgreich.

Details zum Weichpartikelstrahl-Arbeitsplatz

Details zur Digitalisierungseinheit

Projektpartner

Über Uns